The Snitch

Just a little of everything HR

Will people forget I exist if I quit Facebook?

with 2 comments

This week, I decided I wanted to get off the whole Facebook bandwagon. When a close friend found out, he freaked out and practically accused me of committing social suicide.

“How could you leave Facebook? It’s your connection to the rest of humanity!” he cried out, complete with the dramatic flailing of arms. “You’re practically dead to the world now!!”

All right, fine. That may not be exactly what he said, but it was somewhere along those lines. And truth be told, he isn’t the only one who understand the complex hold Facebook – and other social networks – has over our lives.

Companies are increasingly getting on board with creating online platforms and avenues to reach out to employees. Recently, I had the chance to sneak a peek at NTU’s iFair, a virtual career fair that seemed to have popped out right out of a Sims game. I was floored at how interactive, realistic and comprehensive the virtual job booths are. It even made me wonder how long it would take before we had holographic fairs.

Now, that would be pretty darn awesome.

But back to (virtual) reality, with mediums such as Twitter to keep customers, job candidates and even current staff informed of the latest products a company or brand has to offer, I can see why more and more organisations are rushing to claim space on the World Wide Web. Not only are corporate websites now hosting video calls, interactive messages and games, they are also running recruitment programmes online, meaning you could possibly interview for a job from the comfort of your own bed (but please, make sure those PJ bottoms remain off screen).

There is an article on our website on how companies can strengthen their online presence. I even threw in a tip or two on what you can do to make your website more attractive and fun.

So, do you think companies should have Facebook pages? Do you add your colleagues as online friends? If you’ve got an opinion on those questions, or tips on what makes an online site amazing, drop me a comment.

PS: Don’t worry Facebook, I’ll be back… I think.

—-
Human Resources Website
Follow us on Twitter
Like us on Facebook 

Written by Sabrina Zolkifi

March 3, 2011 at 3:20 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What’s the point of saying, “I decided I wanted to get off the whole Facebook bandwagon,” only to end with, “Don’t worry Facebook, I’ll be back… I think”?

    That’s like saying, I think I’ll go on a diet and quit eating unhealthy food and sitting on my rear end all day in front of the television. but don’t worry Cheetos and boob tube, I’ll be back.

    JP

    March 13, 2011 at 3:28 am

  2. […] you’ve been following The Snitch for a while now, you’d remember my attempt at staying off Facebook (obviously I went crawling back) so trust me when I say I understand the cheap thrill in venting […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

